2019 CFDA Awards Winners: Rick Owens, Jennifer Lopez, Barbie & More

Here's the full list of fashion designers and industry icons who were honored at the Brooklyn Museum on 3 June.
Reading time 2 minutes

On 3 June, New York came alive with yet another major event on the fashion calendar. No, not the Met Gala, but the 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards: the prestigious annual awards ceremony that honors the crème de la crème of the American fashion industry and rewards us with some great red carpet moments.

The ceremony took place at the Brooklyn Museum (just like it did in 2018) and was attended by models, fashion designers and industry icons, including Bella Hadid, Gigi Hadid, Virgil Abloh and CFDA chairman Diane von Furstenberg, who will be succeeded by Tom Ford next year. 

Throughout the evening, hosts Hasan Minhaj and Jessica Williams presented the awards to this year's winners, which included avant-garde designer Rick Owens for Menswear Designer of the Year and Brandon Maxwell—who designed all four of Lady Gaga's Met Gala costumes this year—for Womenswear Designer of the Year. The CFDA also presented Jennifer Lopez with the Fashion Icon Award, ranking her among the likes of past honorees Naomi Campbell and Rihanna. Another fashion icon who was recognized last night was Barbie, the doll whom the CFDA celebrated as a "champion of female empowerment."

Here's the full list of winners of the 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Brandon Maxwell

Menswear Designer of the Year: Rick Owens

Accessories Designer of the Year: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Emerging Designer of the Year: Emily Adams Bode for Bode

Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammetti International Award: Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen

Positive Change Award: Eileen Fisher

Founder's Award: Carine Roitfeld

Media Award: Lynn Yaeger

Fashion Icon: Jennifer Lopez

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Bob Mackie

Board of Directors’ Tribute Award: Barbie

related posts

Recommended posts for you