All The Winners From Last Night's Tony Awards

The winners of the night included Andrew Garfield, Nathan Lane, Glenda Jackson, and Chita Rivera.

Between Robert De Niro receiving a standing ovation for saying “F*ck Trump” and the Parkland teen’s rendition of ‘Seasons of Love,’ last night’s 72nd Tony Awards proved to be highly political. Andrew Garfield won Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Play for his portrayal of Prior, a man who learns he has aids, in Angels in America. In his acceptance speech, Garfield told the audience, “we are all sacred and we all belong so let’s just bake a cake for everyone who wants a cake to be baked,” in reference to the recent Supreme Court decision upholding a Colorado baker’s refusal to bake a wedding cake for a gay couple.

Ari’el Stachel, who took home Best Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical in The Band’s Visit, also had a political message for the audience; “For so many years of my life, I pretended I wasn’t a Middle Eastern person. I am part of a cast of actors who never believed they would portray their own races. I want any kid who’s watching to know your biggest obstacle may turn into your purpose.”

Here's the full list of winners:

Best Musical: The Band’s Visit

Best Play: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Best Revival of a Musical: Once on This Island

Best Revival of a Play: “Angels in America

Best Book of a Musical: “The Band’s Visit,” Itamar Moses

Best Original Score: “The Band’s Visit,” Music and Lyrics: David Yazbek

Best Leading Actor in a Play: Andrew Garfield, “Angels in America”

Best Leading Actress in a Play: Glenda Jackson, “Three Tall Women”

Best Leading Actor in a Musical: Tony Shalhoub, “The Band’s Visit”

Best Leading Actress in a Musical: Katrina Lenk, “The Band’s Visit”

Best Featured Actor in a Play: Nathan Lane, “Angels in America”

Best Featured Actress in a Play: Laurie Metcalf, “Three Tall Women”

Best Featured Actor in a Musical: Ari’el Stachel, “The Band’s Visit”

Best Featured Actress in a Musical: Lindsay Mendez, “Carousel”

Best Scenic Design of a Play: Christine Jones, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”

Best Scenic Design of a Musical: David Zinn, “SpongeBob SquarePants”

Best Costume Design of a Play: Katrina Lindsay, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”

Best Costume Design of a Musical: Catherine Zuber, “My Fair Lady”

Best Lighting Design of a Play: Neil Austin, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”

Best Lighting Design of a Musical: Tyler Micoleau, “The Band’s Visit”

Best Direction of a Play: John Tiffany, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”

Best Direction of a Musical: David Cromer, “The Band’s Visit”

Best Choreography: Justin Peck, “Carousel”

Best Orchestrations: Jamshied Sharifi, “The Band’s Visit”

Best Sound Design of a Play: Gareth Fry, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”

Best Sound Design of a Musical: Kai Harada, “The Band’s Visit

Special Tony Award for lifetime achievement in the theater: Chita Rivera, Andrew Lloyd Webber

Special Tony Award: Bruce Springsteen, John Leguizamo

Regional Theater Tony Award: La MaMa E.T.C.

Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award: Nick Scandalios

Tony Honors for excellence in the theater: Sara Krulwich, Bessie Nelson, Ernest Winzer Cleaners

Check out some of our favorite red carpet looks below.


related posts

Recommended posts for you